Livingstone Island

Image

Livingstone Island is the spot where David Livingstone first viewed the falls. It’s in the middle of the Zambezi River and right on the edge of the falls.

We take a speed boat over and are shown around the small piece of land which sits on the Zambian side but pretty much in the middle of the river. I’m sharing the experience with three Zambian ladies who are local tour operators. They don’t fancy sitting in the water on the edge of the falls so I brave it alone. It feels particularly scary after hearing about the hippo and elephants that have been swept over the edge by the strong currents. I have confidence in the guides who are very strong and hold my hand and guide each step I take.

Image

We go to both sides of the island. It is at this exciting moment that my camera breaks! I don’t mind too much, I’m excited to be able to experience it! So, with one guide holding each hand I move through the water to the edge of the falls. Just one step away I can see the edge and can look over the 100m drop to the rocks and river below. Terrifying!

The sun is bright and there is blue sky, and behind me the thick grey cloud created by the spray. Where these two mix I can see a single strong arch of a rainbow overhead. When I look over the edge I can see that it is three quarters complete. It is an absolutely breathtaking experience. An incredible way to see the falls. I can’t believe that I am here and that I am doing this! Seriously scary! I’m very relieved that I didn’t need to rely on the ‘safety rope’, which at first glance looks like a piece of twine that had got caught on a rock on its way over the falls!

Image

Big thanks to the Zambian ladies who snapped me on their phone from the safety of the island after the spray killed my camera!  

IMG-20140318-02001

We then chatted over high tea in a tent on the edge of the island, and the staff packed me a doggy bag to take home!  Success!

Image

5 thoughts on “Livingstone Island

  1. Just read your last 3 posts. I am so in awe, no longer of the falls but of you dear Jill! I can’t imagine having the guts to do rafting of the falls walk even with strong guides hiding my hands! The flight looks very appealing though. Sorry about camera, but your photos to date show it had a great life. Lv Bx

  2. Wow! Standing in the middle of the river looks insane!! Well done, I don’t think I could have done that, I’m scared of heights, but can do certain things… Standing by the edge of the falls would be impossible for me… Lying down looking over the edge possibly, but standing up. No!

Leave a comment